October 8, 2009

Random Dozen

Posted in Fun at 8:54 am by Stacy

We don’t have our Little Friends with us today.  I know I should be cleaning up messes or schooling the kids, but for now I think I’ll do the Random Dozen from 2nd Cup of Coffee.  I feel like writing, but don’t have anything I reallywant to write about.

1. On an average, how often do you splurge and buy something for yourself?   More than I should.  Usually it involves fabric for some sewing project or another.

2. Are you more like Hall or Oates? Just kidding. Real question: What is the last creative project you began/finished? Feel free to post a pic of it.  I just made a really cute bag using this pattern last night.   I would show you a really cute picture of it right now but Bethel Mommy can’t find the memory card to her camera. 

3. OK, Goldie Locks, do you consider your house too big, too little or juuuust right?  The main living area is juuuust right.  But the master bedroom and Bethel Girl’s room are a little on the small side and we could really use a 2nd bathroom.

4. What is your favorite outdoor chore?  Supervising Bethel Daddy while he does the outdoor chores.   🙂

5. If you knew that cigarette smoking was not bad for your health but would be a weight loss tool, would you use it? Why or why not?  No I wouldn’t use it, cigarette smoke gives me an awful headache, plus Bethel Daddy really doesn’t like cigarette smoke and wouldn’t want to kiss an “ash tray mouth”.

6. On a road trip, would you rather drive or ride?  Both, I enjoy driving, but I also like to not have to concentrate and just visit with Bethel Daddy.

7. What do you consider a trivial pursuit?  This question is making Bethel Mommy think.  Something that is a trivial pursuit for me, might not be for someone else and if I were to say it was trivial, that might hurt their feelings or cause a disagreement. 

8. This weekend, we downloaded the movie “Duplicity” with Julia Roberts and Clive Owen. Within 5 minutes, I was bored and annoyed, but I kept watching 5-10 minutes at a time hoping it would get better between small chores. I finally gave up and Jorge watched it alone, and then regretted wasting that time because he disliked it intensely, too. So … how long do you watch a movie or read a book before giving up on it?   First of all I’m so glad that someone else thought that movie was not very good.   I was so confused most of the time and had to have Bethel Daddy stop the movie several times to explain it to me.  Maybe I was just confused because I was busy working on a sewing project.  I guess it just depends on the degree of awfulness.   If it’s mildly awful I might sew or do something else while it’s on.   If it just is plain awful, I will probably turn it off when it reaches the point where I go “You’ve got to be kidding me?!?”    I rarely go to movies in a theater because I hate sitting there thinking about how much I paid for the movie and popcorn and not being able to do something else (like sew).

9. Is there a song that you really love but are embarrassed to admit because it’s not cool or it’s racy or because it’s by Hall and Oates?  The first song that came to mind and now I can’t stop thinking of it is “I like it, I love it, I want some more of it” by Tim McGraw.    Must go listen to something else now to keep from singing that song all day long.

10. On a scale of 1-10 (10 = extremely) how spontaneous are you?  I would say about a 3.   I really don’t like things that I don’t know about or aren’t planned in advance.

11. Are you a food and/or beverage snob?   About some things I am.   Beverage wise not so much because I typically only drink water.  Food wise I probably am.   I won’t spend money on a cheap piece of steak.   Nothing beats a good rib eye, grilled by Bethel Daddy.
12. Who/What are you trying to control in your life? (I hear people gulping and see them sweating in anticipation of how to answer this one.)  Outside influences that negatively impact my family.   I’ve tried to spend the last few months getting rid things or influences that really do not have a positive influence on our family.   I’m trying to be wise in knowing what things are from God and what aren’t.

1 Comment »

  1. Good answers – I’d love to know how to get by with #4 🙂

    Now I have to go listen to something else so that Tim McGraw song won’t keep running thru MY head!


Leave a Reply

