October 13, 2009

Gratituesday – Thoughts and Words

Posted in Faith at 11:26 am by Stacy

As I as doing my devotion last night the Lord used His Word as a sharp sword and made me take a close look at my words and thoughts.  Here’s the scripture that cut deep into my heart.

Ephesians 4:29-31 (New Living Translation)

29 Don’t use foul or abusive language. Let everything you say be good and helpful, so that your words will be an encouragement to those who hear them.

 30 And do not bring sorrow to God’s Holy Spirit by the way you live. Remember, he has identified you as his own, guaranteeing that you will be saved on the day of redemption.

 31 Get rid of all bitterness, rage, anger, harsh words, and slander, as well as all types of evil behavior.

It’s not as though I use foul language, but does my words sometimes come out abusive?   When I took an honest look I had to say yes, sometimes my words are not as kind and loving as they should be to those who matter most to me.  I typically explode first and then regret what my words have said.   I know from my own past that it is so much easier to remember the negative words that are said instead of those that are kind and loving.   Do I really want Bethel boy and girl and Bethel Daddy remembering that Bethel Mommy used her words to hurt them?   It’s not the legacy I want to leave behind.

In verse 30 I had to examine how I live.   Am I “bringing sorrow” to the Holy Spirit?   I love the reminder that God has identified me as his own.   Do I live my life in such a way where He can go “That’s Bethel Mommy, she’s mine!” and say it with the same pride that I identify Bethel Boy and Girl?   Or would he say “Oh yeah, that’s Bethel Mommy, she’s mine, but you wouldn’t know that by how she’s living!”   There was a time in my past that unfortunately He would have probably identified me with the latter.  My goal everyday is that he says “That’s Bethel Mommy, She’s mine!” 

Verse 31 is where I probably have the most area of growth that the Lord wants me to work on.   I don’t have the easiest time of forgiving people.   Sometimes I let bitterness and anger reign just because I won’t forgive and let go.   How arrogant of me to accept and know that God has forgiven me of so much, yet withhold that from other people. 

So on this Gratituesday I am choosing to be grateful for God’s Word and how it has the power to change lives!

Leave a Reply

