March 11, 2010

Flashback Friday – The Big Red Car edition.

Posted in Fun at 10:17 pm by Stacy


How and when did you learn to drive?  I was 15 1/2 when I got my learners permit.  And a month or two after my 16th birthday when I got my licence.

Do you have any particular memories associated with getting your driver license? The only thing I remember is that DMV was crowded and we lived in a farm community and there was a farm worker who had what I thought were barnacles growing on his shirt.  I have no idea what was actually growing on his shirt.

How old were you when you got your first car and what was it? I drove a red 1983 Chevy Cavalier.  I loved that car!  It was the first car that I drove.  It became “mine” when I graduated from high school.

Who paid for it? My parents.  It was the family car until my mom upgraded. 

As I’m coming up with having graduated from high school 20 years ago, what a fun flashback for me to take. 

Head on over to Mocha with Linda for more Flashback Friday post.

9 Comments »

  1. quilly said,

    Barnacles on his shirt? That sure painted a mental image for me. I covet your 1983 Cavalier. I lived next door to a used car dealership when I was in college and I used to sit at my desk doing my homework (supposedly) and stare out the window at a lovely orange Cavalier.

  2. Hmm…now I’m wondering what could have been on that shirt too! Ick!

    The Cavalier was a great car! And red! Wow!

  3. I enjoyed reading your memory. Thanks for playing!

  4. SusanD said,

    I enjoyed reading your story. Thanks so much for sharing. Have a great weekend. Blessings, SusanD

  5. Debbie said,

    I’m laughing pictureing “Farmer John” with barnacles all over his shit sitting in the DMV. Maybe that was his way of making sure no one sat right nest to him!

  6. Kim said,

    Ahhhh, we had a Chevy Cavalier early on in our marriage. We drove that thing until it was practically falling apart from all the rust. Took about 20 minutes to start in the mornings there toward the end. Sold it to our Haitian neighbor (we lived in South Florida) and so we still had to listen to the ‘vrrrrrroooooom, vrrrrrrrooooom’ for 20 minutes every morning. LOL

    Definitely a fun walk down memory lane!

  7. Sara Bowyer said,

    I don’t think I really want to know what was growing on that guys shirt…yikes!!!

  8. Nel said,

    What a fun trip down memory lane.

    until next time… nel

  9. bp said,

    Thanks for sharing your memories! It was fun to think back on those days.

    Have a nice weekend!
    Bethany


Leave a Reply

