March 17, 2010

Random Dozen – St. Patricks Day Edition

Posted in Family, Fun at 6:17 am by Stacy


1. On a scale of 1-10, how superstitious are you, honestly?  Right around 3 or 4.

2. Julius Caesar is quoted as saying, “I came, I saw, I conquered.” Which circumstance or experience of yours does this saying best describe?  I’m really thinking about this and boy is it a hard question to answer.  I’m not really a “conquering” type person.  There is the everyday things that I conquer, for example laundry and dishes, but when I think of something “big” I’m just drawing a blank.

3. If I peeked in on your day like a mischievous little leprechaun, at what time would I most likely find you blogging?  Mostly after the husband and kids go to bed.  It is quiet and I can think a little more clearly.

4. Re springing forward for Daylight Saving Time, is there anything you’ve ever been really early or really late for?  I was really late delivering my son – he was 2 weeks late 🙂   But seriously I remember this time when I was in 7th or 8th grade that I woke up at 2:00 in the morning and panicked that it was 2:00 in the afternoon and I was late for school.   I got up quickly and took a shower.  It wasn’t until my mom came in the bathroom to see what was wrong that I realized that it was still the middle of the night.  You could say that I was really early for the next morning or really late for the day that just had passed.

5. What are you most looking forward to concerning Spring?  Bike rides with the family, hiking on all the paths that we have around here.

6. Shamrocks are the national flower of Ireland and are picked on St. Patrick’s Day and worn on the lapel or shoulder. Do you wear green on St. Patty’s Day? Not really, lots of years I have forgotten and have forgotten to dress my children in green.   This year my mom sent them shamrock “body stickers” to put on to make sure they are wearing green.

7. One of Caesar’s assassins, Casca, said, “But, for my own part, it was Greek to me,” which of course means he didn’t understand something. Probably his own lines in the play. Anyway, what is something that is “Greek to you,” something incomprehensible or indecipherable?  Sometimes peoples behavior makes me go “Huh?”.  But God is teaching me through this and showing me areas were others might go “huh?” about things I do.

8. Is March behaving more like a lion or a lamb where you live? Very lambish.  We’ve had a few snow storms come though but the snow is gone off the ground by the afternoon and it’s warming up.   I actually had windows open yesterday in the house!  In March!

9. “An extra yawn one morning in the springtime, an extra snooze one night in the autumn is all that we ask in return for dazzling gifts. We borrow an hour one night in April; we pay it back with golden interest five months later.” -Winston Churchill. If you had one extra hour per day every day, what would you do with it?  Find a way to sew, for a full hour, without interruptions.

10. Legend says that every Leprechaun has a pot of gold hidden deep in the Irish countryside. Aside from real gold or money, what material item would be in your dream pot of gold?  Two things: a house with two bathrooms and 4 bedrooms so I could have a sewing room or just lots and lots of fabric.

11. “The best things are nearest: breath in your nostrils, light in your eyes, flowers at your feet, duties at your hand, the path of God just before you.” Robert Louis Stevenson. Look around you right now and tell us about something essential or beautiful very near you that you take for granted every day.  I see my desktop computer which died last night (I’m on Bethel Daddy’s Laptop).  I’m really hoping that we can get it fixed because there are many things that I want off of there.

12. Just for a bit o’ fun, click here (www.blogthings.com/irishnamegenerator/) and then report your Irish name. Mine is “Zoe O’Sullivan.” I love it!  Mine is Michaela Gallagher.  Has a nice ring to it.

Head on over to Linda’s at 2nd cup of coffee for more St Patrick Days Random Dozens.

3 Comments »

  1. great answers I so agree with #7
    Happy ST. Patrick’s Day!

  2. Elizabeth said,

    Enjoyed reading your answers… I totally agree with #7 and God has been opening my eyes to my issues also!

    Have a blessed day!

  3. Robin said,

    Hello Michaela! 😉

    Happy St. Patrick’s Day. Can you imagine how much sewing we could get done if we had an extra hour every day?

    Thanks for sharing your random answers. Check out my blog, I have a giveaway going this week.


Leave a Reply

