March 22, 2010

Happy Homemaker Monday

Posted in Faith, Family, Homemaking at 10:31 pm by Stacy

hhm

The weather in my neck of the woods: Mid 50’s during the day, freezing at night.  Total typical spring weather for Northeastern California.

Things that make me happy: One thing is in the forefront of my mind – the way my children play together so well.   There is 3 years between them, but since we’ve been homeschooling they have really became friends.   It’s a blessing to watch.

Book I’m reading: A book for our Sunday school class called “Sacred Pathways” by Gary Thomas.   Our class is talking about how our spiritual gifting and spiritual pathways (how we best relate to God) combine to make us the most effective for ministry.

What I’m enjoying on TV: Tonight I’ve enjoyed message # 1 on Doctrine from Pastor Mark Driscoll of Mars Hill Church in Seattle.   My husband and I really enjoy his teaching style and it was just a message I need to hear.   I’m looking forward to getting the book Doctrine very soon.

On the menu for dinner: Tonight I just kind of threw stuff together, it was good and the kids ate it – which is amazing with a casserole.   On Tuesday night we are having grilled Turkey Kabobs,

On my To Do List: Iron Bethel Daddy’s shirts, school, dance lessons for Bethel Girl, bake something for bible study tomorrow night, vacuum the livingroom.

New Recipe I tried or want to try soon: I guess what we are having for dinner tomorrow will be a new recipe, I’ll post it if it turns out good.

In the craft basket: Same as last week – binding on my quilt and crocheting.   I am getting closer to having my sewing machine set up – maybe tomorrow.

Looking forward to this week: On Friday our homeschool Friday classes start up again.  I enjoyed the break but I’m looking forward to meeting with all our friends again.  We are also going on a tour to the  local nursery here with our group.  On Saturday the nursery is having a gardening class that I’m super excited to go to.

Tips and Tricks:  – I’ve got nothin’.

My favorite blog post this week: I have two.  My Gratituesday Post and My Flashback Friday Post.

Blog Hopping (a new discovered blog you would like to share with the readers): Simple Homeschool.  There are also other “simple” sites to visit.   The Simple Organic site I will be checking out as my garden grows.

No words needed (favorite photo or picture, yours or others you want to share): I’ve got nothin’ this week, my desk top is down so I’ve been working on the laptop and haven’t downloaded any pictures lately.

Lesson learned the past few days: I love my 30’s, especially my late 30’s.   I heard some girl in there 20’s talking and their  discussion brought me back to those insecure days of my 20’s.  My 30’s are wonderful because I’m secure in who I am as a wife, mother, child of God.   It’s wonderful!

On my mind: I’ve really been praying that God would heal friendships and bring a new friend my way.  I really am desiring a close female friend or a couple that we can be friends with and raise our children alongside.

Devotionals, Scripture Reading, Key Verses:

Psalm 1

1 Blessed is the man
who does not walk in the counsel of the wicked
or stand in the way of sinners
or sit in the seat of mockers.

2 But his delight is in the law of the LORD,
and on his law he meditates day and night.

3 He is like a tree planted by streams of water,
which yields its fruit in season
and whose leaf does not wither.
Whatever he does prospers.

4 Not so the wicked!
They are like chaff
that the wind blows away.

5 Therefore the wicked will not stand in the judgment,
nor sinners in the assembly of the righteous.

6 For the LORD watches over the way of the righteous,
but the way of the wicked will perish.

Head on over to Sandra’s and find more Happy Homemaker Post!

2 Comments »

  1. Jennifer said,

    I loved your post. Especially your prayer for friends. I have prayed this in the past and it seems like I make friends with someone and they move away. So once again I’m praying for a friend. I will be in prayer with you and for you as well.

    I love your lesson learned as well. I’ve never thought about it like that. I’m in my late 30’s and have never been more secure in my life. Thank you for the reminder.

    Many blessings,
    Jen

  2. Conny said,

    I love Psalm 1 … it was one of the first portions of Scripture my son learned when he was 4 years old.
    And I agree – my 30’s have been GREAT! I am now 39 (YIKES) and my hubby who is almost 3 years old than me says the 40s are even better! 🙂


Leave a Reply

