April 14, 2010

Really Random Dozen

Posted in Faith at 12:07 pm by Stacy

1:

1. How do you feel about “Gladiator” sandals, also called “Roman” or “Jesus” sandals? A fashion yea or nay?  For me it’s a fashion “nay”, but that’s because I’m in flip flops or sneakers most days.  Which most would consider probably a fashion nay.

2. What is your favorite pizza?  At our local Pizza Factory they have a pizza called “Factory Special” and it is delightful.   All kinds of meat and veggies.

3. There are plans in the works to sell roughly 1,000 items from Star Trek: The Experience in Las Vegas. This means you could buy Picard’s chair for your family room. If not a Star Trek item, what prop, background, set, etc. from what TV or movie would you buy if you could?
[Ex: Hurley’s “I Love my Shih tzu” shirt from LOST, the plantation home “Tara” from Gone With the Wind, or Tracy’s tambourine from the Partridge Family.]

I would totally buy something from Star Wars – maybe a light saber   for my son.

4. Name a local food or restaurant that your area is famous for.    The local prison canteen?   I live in a very small town, I don’t think we have anything famous here as far as food or restaurant.  We have two state prisons locally so that’s why I said the prison canteens.  LOL

5. What is your current favorite snack?  Chocolate Graham Crackers

6. Hypothetical: You are required to be a reality show contestant. Which show would you choose based on your probability of success? (You cannot choose “none.”)

A. Dancing with the Stars
B. Biggest Loser –

C. Survivor

7. On a scale of 1-10, with 1 being uninhabitable and 10 being cleanliness that meets the standards of OCD, how clean is your vehicle’s interior?  I have two kids and a huge yellow lab that loves to go with us regularly ride in my car.  It’s about a 4.

8. It doesn’t feel like Spring until we don’t have to build a fire anymore to heat the house.

9. Something that made you laugh really hard recently is the other night when Bethel Boy prayed.   He was just singing “Our God is an Awesome God” and after he finished with his typical night time prayer he started praying that song.  It was just so cute how he said ” God, you know that you are Awesome, that you reign with power and might, that you are the awesome God” that gave me the giggles.  He ended up giving me a dirty look and I couldn’t tell him why I was laughing so I lied (I know, bad mom, I did ask for forgiveness after) and told him I was laughing at his sister.

10. Tell me about a goal you’re working toward.  Running a 5K.  Part of that would be getting my behind out there and actually doing it!  I’m still stuck on the couch.

11. Share a thought-provoking or inspiring quote this week.  Via Mark Driscoll – “For the Christian, ‘truth’ is not primarily about logical propositions or statements, but about an encounter with the living God himself, and the consequent struggle to try and put into words that greater reality” – Alister McGrath

12. Name one thing that you do as a parent that you absolutely know will make your kids happy. If you’re not a parent, feel free to substitute “friend” or nomenclature that works for you.  For my daughter it is spending time with her, cuddling her, just listening to her talk.   For my son, it’s sitting down and playing Legos with him.  Isn’t it interesting that both of those things take time and spending time with that person?

Head on over to Lid’s for more Random Dozens!

1 Comment »

  1. Prison canteen, huh?! That’s hilarious.

    Your boy’s prayer was precious!


Leave a Reply

