April 24, 2010

Weekend Wrap-up

Posted in Faith, Homechooling at 12:13 pm by Stacy

Last weekend I posted what I wanted to accomplish for school this week.  Monday and Tuesday went great, but the rest of the week didn’t go as planned.

Bethel Daddy had to take a business trip and was home Wednesday morning before he had to leave to catch his flight.  Instead of doing what I planned academically for Bethel Boy we worked on his AWANA verses since it was the last night he could complete his book.   I am happy to report that he completed his third book for AWANA and will be receiving his SPARKS Award (3 books completed in 3 years).  I am so proud of him!  So while typical “school” didn’t get done that day, we learned about finishing strong, hiding God’s word in our heart and the joy of being rewarded for hard work – not a wasted day if you ask me.

That night on our drive home from AWANA I got to hear what Bethel Boy loves about homeschooling.   It  was such a wonderful thing for my mother’s heart.

Thursday I had an allergic reaction to something.  It made me sick and I couldn’t stop itching.  I didn’t have the daycare boys that day so the kids and I watched the original Wizard of Oz movie, since we finished the book last week.   When I asked Bethel Boy to tell me some of the differences between the book and the movie he said:  “One was a book and one is a movie – they are totally different, Mom”   Not exactly what I was looking for, but it was the truth.    That was all the schooling we did for that day.

Friday was a busy day.   I had two extra kids from our homeschool group with us.   Our County office of Ed does a thing that celebrates the founding of our town each year for 3rd grade students.   They were able to go and enjoy the day and I kept their daughters.   We went to our Friday School meeting and had great fun learning about Contentment via Martin Luther King Jr and Mother Theresa.   That afternoon Bethel Girl went to a Princess birthday party and had great fun and I taught the second half of a sewing class for our homeschool group.   During our day Bethel Daddy got home and we were so glad!

Head on over to Weird Unsocialized Homeschoolers for more Weekly Wrap-ups.   I had fun participating for the first time!

1 Comment »

  1. Jamie said,

    Sounds like a full week, even if you didn’t do all the “usual” things. 🙂


Leave a Reply

