June 8, 2010

Media Free Tuesday #1

Posted in Faith, Family, Homechooling at 10:10 pm by Stacy

So today was our first day without tv, internet, talk radio, Wii, DS’s, etc.   And it wasn’t as bad as I thought it was going to be.

The day started off great.   Both kids came in and cuddled me in bed.   After talking and praying for the day we got up so I could have a cup of coffee and read the paper.   Both kids sat next to me and looked through the paper at the pictures and read a story or two.

Bethel Boy had a dentist appointment at 9:00.  It took all of 15 minutes and then we came home and went outside to so I could read a chapter in our read aloud (Mrs. Piggle Wiggle) and Bethel Boy could read to me a chapter out of his book.

The kids played until it was time for dance.

When we got home from dance I fixed lunch and then we played a game of Star Wars Trouble.   It’s great fun to see both of their competitive nature come out.

In the heat of the day it was a little harder.  The kids didn’t quite know how to entertain themselves and I had a few things I wanted to do, like clean the hearth and rearrange the furniture in the living room.   Both helped with that chore.

Both played outside until dinner was ready and then after dinner we had bible study at the park.

So my thoughts on this first day – We will keep plugging along with it.  Next week should be really easy since they will be gone all morning at VBS.  I also think it will be much easier once we start school in July.   It will give them something to do most of the day and we can be more focused.

I also should note (so I can remember it) that I did check my e-mail, but not respond to any or read any that didn’t require my attention.   Once the kids went to bed, both Bethel Daddy and I “plugged in” and had some independent computer time.  I don’t know if that will continue or not, we will just take it one week at a time.

Leave a Reply

