June 10, 2010

Homeschool Villiage: Taking a Break and relaxing

Posted in Homechooling at 8:45 pm by Stacy

Photobucket

This week has been a delightful time of resting and refreshing  after our first year of homeschooling.   The year wasn’t what I wanted it to be, yet it was exactly what the Lord knew it would be.   I think it’s more about what I learned and not so much academically what the learned.

I’m a planner by nature.  What I lack in execution I more than make up for in planning.  🙂  So for me these few weeks of our “summer break” is enjoying my kids (oh how I have learned to enjoy them since coming home from working outside the home a year ago), reading a few books just for pleasure, sewing, watching some movies and did I say just finding joy in my kids.

I spend a little part of each day planning, but for me that’s fun.   Also Bethel Girl has been excited to start school NOW!  So we have been doing some pre-handwriting sheets, math and teaching reading with Bob Books.   I was going to use Teach Your Child to Read in 100 EZ Lessons, but she just doesn’t like it.   She’s doing well sounding things out so I’m thinking we will keep going with the Bob Books.   Any suggestions to use these effectively would be helpful since Bethel Boy learned to read in public school kindergarten.  I decided to cultivate that desire to learn while the desire is there.

Please stop by Layton Family Joy to see how others are  refreshing before the upcoming school year.

3 Comments »

  1. sounds like you have a nice/even-keeled summer planned out! I am not a planner-envying you a bit on that front!

    wishing you a wonderful summer with your little ones!

    much grace and peace to you,

  2. Joy Ellis said,

    Sounds like you did a wonderful job your first year. If your daughter seems to enjoy sounding the words out, I would continue to go that direction. Good luck with your homeschooling and don’t hesitate to ask for help or for advice!! 🙂 That is the only way we learn!

  3. Sherry said,

    Sounds like you have a relaxing summer planned! That is great that BethelGirl is excited about school and you are helping encourage her. 😀


Leave a Reply

