July 15, 2010

What grade would I get?

Posted in Faith, Homechooling at 5:14 pm by Stacy

This week over at The Homeschool Village the topic is:  How would you grade yourself homeschooling? How did your children grade you?!

If I were grading myself for our first year I would to give myself a very generous “C” for our first year, with an “A” for effort!   Last year since I was babysitting homeschooling fell to the bottom of the list a lot of times.   Academically we didn’t learn all I wanted my son to learn last year, BUT socially and about things that really matter – we learned a lot.   Bethel Boy learned a lot about the Lord.  We were so pleased as he made connections between reading the Beginner’s Bible (all the way through) and things he was learning other places.   It wasn’t that he made the connections just to Sunday School lessons or Children’s church – but he made connections to real life.

I asked Bethel Boy what grade he would give me for the past year and he said “A”.   When I asked why, he said it was because I kept doing it even with lots of distractions.    I can’t help to wonder if it is because  of the freedom of learning outside and the one on one time  of  learning or is it because they like eating hot food and watching a bit of tv during lunch each day?

As we just started our 2nd year this past Monday it will be interesting to see how we do this year.   I’m pretty pleased with how the first four days have gone.  We are all a little tired, but I’m trying to learn tricks to get us to stay motivated.   It’s amazing how much quicker a hand writing assignment gets done or all math gets completed before the timer goes off when one knows they can’t go outside until it gets done.  I have no idea what I will hold over their heads for reward when the weather gets bad.

Visit The HomeSchool Village to see how others are evaluating themselves.

5 Comments »

  1. Stef said,

    great post – thanks for sharing! And pressing thru during those “distractions”! Love a child’s heart!!

    Stef
    The Homeschool Village

  2. Joy Ellis said,

    I love it when they make connections from the Bible to real life! That is what homeschooling is ALL about!

  3. Way to go! Staying the course is tough. I’ve got to keep two on track and going this year. Keep those motivational tips coming!

    ~Jennifer

  4. Sherry said,

    This was a great post. Being able to use the Bible for your school is great. I would give you an “A” must keep up what your doing.
    My prayers are with you and your family. I am proud of you for taking on this responsibility.
    Many Blessings,
    Sherry

  5. Kysha said,

    “Bethel Boy learned about the Lord.” That’s the best that you can achieve. I’ll give you an A+. Awesome job, Mom and congrats on entering your 2nd year. We learn just as much about ourselves as we learn about our children in the beginning of this journey.


Leave a Reply

