August 19, 2010

Gearing Up Part Two

Posted in Family, Homechooling, Homemaking at 9:09 pm by Stacy

As excited as I was in July to start school I’m feeling the exact opposite to have our summer come to an end.   The last few weeks have been a wonderful time of just relaxing.  We just finished a trip to Oregon where we swam 3 or 4 times a day, did a little shopping (yeah!  no sales tax!) and visited with family.   What a perfect ending to our summer.

So now as I look at spending next week having a teacher prep week, to get ready for getting back on schedule starting August 30th, I’m trying to figure out what I want our day/week to look like.   Leave it up to our own devises and we wouldn’t do much at all.   All three of us are pretty lazy beings.

As I was taking a shower today I started to think of what I want our day to look like.  How I want it to flow.  Hopefully somewhere between my ideal day and my current lazy day we will find a balance.

So here is what my ideal day will look like:

Wake up by 5:00 – have coffee, quiet time and computer time by 6:00

6:00- get ready for the day, get dressed, start a load of laundry if needed.

7:00 – get kids moving toward getting dressed and eating breakfast.

7:30 – kids make beds and get ready for school

8:00 – 11:00 School starts – Bible, Calendar time, Handwriting, Language Arts, snack break Math free time

11 – 12 lunch and break

12 – 2:30  – quiet reading time, history and science, reading.

2:30 – Bethel Daddy gets home – prep dinner, play and do all those little things that didn’t get done yet.

While times may not be exact, but hopefully the flow will be close to what I want.   I’m going to try not to have the tv on in the morning.  I think that will help me get off the computer and the kids to get started on the day a little quicker.

Leave a Reply

