May 22, 2011

The benefits are finally paying off

Posted in Training at 9:58 am by Stacy

What a few busy days for us in the Bethel household. We had the local 3rd grade history day where we learned about not only our local history, but about those pioneers that settled California. It was lots of walking as we toured uptown. That was Friday and it was supposed to be a run day. By the time we got home and settled when I asked the kids to go on my run with me, they both said they wanted to go in the morning. Since bedtime the night before was about 10:30 and they had gotten up early on Friday to go to the history day I let them sit there and veg while watching the Disney Channel.

I knew we had a busy Saturday, I had a 2:00 appointment at the Apple store 1 1/2 hours away. Since we homeschool, we aren’t too speedy in getting ready in the morning. About 9:30 I decided it was now or never so I went and prepared for my run and told the kids to get ready also. I loaded up the kids, bikes and dog into the van and we started to go to my favorite place. But as we pulled out of the driveway the rain drops fall. I debated on if I should continue on or if I should not waste the gas. I decided I needed to find my “want to” and keep going. If we arrived there and it was still pouring rain then we would wait 5 min in the car. Bethel Girl was in the back seat whining “I have holes in my helmet, I’m going to rained on”, but I drove quietly praying that the rain would stop when we got there.

As we parked the van, no rain was in sight! Praise the Lord!

I have decided that I need to give myself a longer warm up and cool down walk than just the 5 minutes that is planned into the Couch to 5K program. I went ahead and walked about a quarter of a mile before starting up the “app” that I have that keeps track of what day I am on in the program and gently tells me when to run and when to walk. I also use the Nike+ GPS app that I start at the beginning so that it tracks my total distance.

As I got into my first 3 minute run I really felt strong. I felt like I was really doing it and that I am going to make it to my goal of running a 5K on the 4th of July and running the 1/2 marathon in October. Running 3, 4 or 5 miles doesn’t seem overwhelming anymore. Each minute more of running I do I am that much closer to going the distance.

Instead of turning around at the 1/2 way point, I kept going for one more cycle so that I would have just that much longer to walk and stretch out my muscles. When all was said and done I had went 2.15 miles in 39.17 minutes. My fastest pace was 10.01.

But more than going the farthest distance, it’s that I wanted to do it. I didn’t have to worry about Walter being disappointed if I didn’t do it, or sitting on my lazy butt all morning until it was time to get ready to go to Reno.

I’m thinking ahead. Thinking about what I can do on my off run days. Thinking about being strong. and most of all finding my “want to” which is huge!

Stats:

Miles this week: 3.88

Miles last week: 9.35

Miles since May 4th: 14.87

Miles before May 4th: BIG FAT ZERO!

Leave a Reply

