June 2, 2011

Week 5, Run 1

Posted in Training at 8:26 pm by Stacy

I was able to get out there today and run all by myself and it was delightful to run and not have to worry about the kids or that I was slowing down my husband.

I understand how runners get into a groove and do not like things to disturb their groove.   Today that disruption was forgetting my ear phones at home.  I still was able to listen to music and to hear my cues from the couch to 5K program because of the speaker in my iPhone.  The other disruption was that I got two phone calls during my run.   Thankfully it pauses both the nike+ application and the C25K program.

Another thing that I observed was that by now I figured it would be warm for my runs.   Today I ran with a long sleeve thinner shirt and then a heaver thermal type shirt over it.   When I was in the sun I was warm, when I was in the shade it was super cold.   There was still snow on the side of the road in a few places.  I was also wearing a thermal cap to keep my head warm and my head would have been cold without it.

I just love the road that I typically run.  Here is  a picture on my way back from reaching the end.

And here is the picture of the end of the road.   I love the view of the mountain and the trees

My run lasted for 57:51 minutes and consisted of 10 minute walk, 5 min run, 3 walk, 5 run, 3 walk, 5 run, 5 walk, 5 run, 3 walk, 5 run, 3 walk, 5 run.   The first run was hard, my legs hurt and I just didn’t want to do it.  The middle run/walks felt good and the last one was hard.    My per minute mile average was only 18:19 and that is a little disappointing.   I need to figure out between going farther or keeping the distance shorter and being quicker.   If I would have just done the C25K plan my speed might have been a little quicker.   So distance vs speed, which is better?

Miles today:  3.15

Miles this week: 3.15

Miles last week: 7.39

Miles in June:  3.15

Miles in May: 23.78

Miles before May 4th: BIG FAT ZERO!

Leave a Reply

