June 7, 2011

Week 5, Run 3

Posted in Training at 8:27 pm by Stacy

The biggest hurdle in today’s run was finding a place to run.   I think Walter is a little bored with my River Bench Road running place.  I love it though because it has two slight hills it is shaded and there is NO ONE else on the road.   It’s perfect.

But in trying to let Walter have some say in what is going on, especially since he is being so supportive, we went into town.   I guess I should say that not only was Walter wanting somewhere else to run, but the kids wanted somewhere else to ride their bikes.

So into town we went.  First stop, the Bizz.   This lasted all of 5 minutes because Walter and I both were attacked by mosquitoes.   So then we decided to give the Meadow a try.   That lasted .33 miles and then we turned around and went back to the car due to my allergies and asthma acting up.   Neither have bothered me so far, so this was a shock, but really not a surprise when I realized how many thing were blooming – it’s a meadow after all!

So after a quick trip to the store since we were in town to get coffee creamer (important stuff) we went to River Bench.

I warmed up for 5 minutes and then started my running.   I had turned off the 5 minute interval announcement, so  I only heard my pace at the .25 mile markers, I think I’m going to turn it back on.    The first 5 minutes were hard, and then I got into a pretty good grove.   When it told me that I had reached the half way point of my 20 minute run I had to decide do I keep going and stretching my body (and mind) or do I turn back and do an “easy” run.    I decided to see what I could do.

After finishing a 20 minute run, I walked for 10 minutes and then ran for 20 minutes again.   During this time it was always in the back of my mind that I didn’t have to finish, I had already done what was required for the day, but then I would say in my mind that I would evaluate in 5 minutes and then each time I felt like I wanted to go on.   So today I ran for a total of 40 minutes.

So a little interesting info gathered by NIKE+ GPS app:   Since May 13 when I started using this app I’ve ran 26.4 miles, for 8:11:27 and I’ve burned 3232 calories.

Miles today:  3.5 (.33 at the ranch and 3.17 at the “usual” spot.

Miles this week: 9.49

Miles last week: 7.39

Miles in June:  9.49

Miles in May: 23.78

Total Miles:  33.27

Miles before May 4th: BIG FAT ZERO!

Leave a Reply

